Port Taranaki Whio 2020 Team Preview

With a new coaching set up for 2020, the Port Taranaki Whio have also been bolstered by services of Black Ferns Sevens star Gayle Broughton.

Position in 2019

6th in Championship

Talking Points

24 year-old Broughton has played 112 games on the World Sevens circuit, scoring 315 points. She’s a huge boost for the Whio who are looking to build on what was a tough season last year, unable to pick up a win. With the Olympics postponed until next year, Broughton has returned to Hāwera and played club rugby for Southern.

She’s joined in the squad by Sevens Youth Olympian, Iritana Hohaia and the experienced Jalana Smith, Sharee Brown, Kate Parkinson, Leah Barnard and Brooke Sim.

Four secondary school players have been rewarded for strong club season’s, with New Plymouth Girls’ High School students Chloe Sampson, Paige Neilson, Kelsyn McCook and Sacred Heart Girls College’s Danielle Muggeridge all earning a call up to the Whio for the first time.

Brendan Haami is the head coach for the Port Taranaki Whio this season, with Southern coach Devon Berry and former England halfback La Toya Mason his assistants. Mason is also the Taranaki Women’s High Performance Manager.

Incoming Players

Tiana Davison (returns from Manawatu)

Player to watch: Tiana Davison

The Port Taranaki Whio are stoked to have 19 year-old No 8 Tiana Davison back in the squad. The Coastal player and former Sacred Heart Girls College student transferred to Manawatu last season to study at Massey University. Davison represented New Zealand at the Youth Olympic games in Sevens in 2018. She’s an athletic loose forward with a high work rate and great leadership skills.

Port Taranaki Whio Squad

Leah Barnard, Gayle Broughton, Sharee Brown, Tiana Davison, Freedom Edmonds, Chelsea Fowler, Tachelle Gardiner, Natale Haupapa, Iritana Hohaia, Kaya-Rose Kahui, Donia King, Alicia Manuuiriangi, Kelsyn McCook, Victoria McCullough, Hannah McLean, Danielle Muggeridge, Paige Neilson, Jaymi Ngaia, Kate Parkinson, Chloe Sampson, Brooke Sim, Lyn Smith, Jalana Smith, Kate Thomson, Catriona Tulloch, Aliene Wallis, Sharniqua Weston, Nicole Whittle, Sarah Winter

Coaches: Brendan Haami (Head coach), Devon Berry (Forwards coach), La Toya Mason (Backs coach)

Port Taranaki Whio Draw

Port Taranaki Whio v Auckland

Sunday 6 September

12pm TET Stadium & Events Centre


Waikato v Port Taranaki Whio

Saturday 12 September


Port Taranaki Whio v North Harbour

Saturday 19 September

2.45pm TET Stadium & Events Centre


Bay of Plenty v Port Taranaki Whio

Saturday 26 September


Port Taranaki Whio BYE

Saturday 3 October


Northland v Port Taranaki Whio

Sunday 11 October


Port Taranaki Whio v Counties Manukau

Saturday 17 October

2pm TET Stadium & Events Centre


Credit: NZ Rugby


Join the Yarrows Taranaki Bulls 2020 membership family and write yourself into our latest chapter at the TET Stadium & Events Centre by clicking HERE.

To request a call back or to receive more information on Yarrows Taranaki Bulls membership packages click HERE.

Grandstand seating for five Yarrows Taranaki Bulls matches plus any home playoff matches played at the TET Stadium & Events Centre for just $100.

Article added: Sunday 30 August 2020


Latest News