Taranaki Rugby - About

2024 Yarrows Taranaki Bulls Memberships On Sale Now



Taranaki Rugby is a proud provincial union with a wonderful rugby history. TRFU focuses its energy on four main areas of rugby; Yarrows Taranaki Bulls, Central Roofing Taranaki Whio, Community Rugby and Ferdie Rugby.

The Taranaki Rugby Football Union was established in 1885 and is based at Sport Taranaki in the heart of New Plymouth. In 2014 Taranaki claimed the national title for the first time in their history with a 36-32 win over Tasman. This was the first time a provincial union outside the big five had won the top-flight title since 1980.

Since 1885 Taranaki have produced 32 Centurions who have been capped more than 100 times for the Amber and Blacks, 82 All Blacks and four All Black captains. 

The region has also held the coveted Ranfurly Shield on six occasions (1913-1914, 1957-1959, 1963-1965, 1996 and 2011-2012, 2017-2018 and 2020) as well as claiming seven National Provincial Championship Division Two titles in 1976, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1992 and 1995.

Taranaki won the National Sevens Tournament in Queenstown in 2013 beating North Harbour 32-17 - the last year the tournament in Queenstown before it was moved to Rotorua the previous year. 

​​​​​​​Yours in Rugby,
The Team at Taranaki Rugby​​​​​​​

Taranaki is a fierce competitor in the national provincial competition - the Bunnings NPC Championship. Our top team, the Yarrows Taranaki Bulls are coached by Neil Barnes and a team of top-class trainers, medical staff and administrators.​​​​​​​

In 2018 saw the re-introduction of the Taranaki women's team in the Farah Palmer Cup, after competing in the competition in 2013. With a growing number of women's players in Taranaki, this is an opportunity for them to come into a professional environment to represent their region. The team is coached by Brendon Haami. 

Community Rugby is the lifeblood of Taranaki rugby. It is the breeding ground for first-class talent in our province. Each season over 6000 players take to the rugby field with a swag of coaches, administrators and managers working hard off the field to make the grassroots competitions a success.

Taranaki has 13 rugby clubs operating at the CMK senior level. This excludes those competing in the secondary schools' competition. Junior rugby operates under the Ferdie Rugby umbrella up until Secondary School.

There is no game without referees, and these men and women play a vital role in our community game. Taranaki has a strong group of referees who service our game with pride and passion.

For more information about teams, results and upcoming fixtures please see the Community Rugby section of our website.​​​​​​​

Ferdie Rugby is just the place for kids who want to have fun and make lots of friends! Ferdie Rugby is a safe and enjoyable environment for budding rugby super-stars. There are lots of awesome clubs that Taranaki kids can play rugby for. In 2017 we had 143 teams taking the field each Saturday around the mountain from the Under 6 grade through to Under 13. grade. We are always on the lookout for great adult role-models to coach and referee too!

​​​​​​​Click here to view the TRFU Constitution